How the Current Health Care Debate Affects Me as Someone With Preexisting Conditions

***This is an updated version of I preexist therefore I am… ***

 

I’ve been in a brain freeze for the past few days. The recent passing of the AHCA (American Health Care Act) in the House and the Senate’s Better Care Reconciliation Act of 2017 (BCRA) have left me reeling for many reasons. When I expressed concerns, a friend asked why I was worried because I don’t use Obamacare (also known as the Affordable Care Act or ACA) as my insurance. It made me realize that people have no idea what insurance is and how it works. We all think we know how it works, but honestly, the hows and whys are never really looked at in depth unless you need it.

Read more on The Mighty ….

2 thoughts on “How the Current Health Care Debate Affects Me as Someone With Preexisting Conditions

  1. I am so with you. I cannot even imagine how bad it might be. Sure repeal is pretty easy, I am surprised it did not pass this time. It’s the replace that is the hard stuff. It is especially difficult when the current plan was your plan to start with.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The thing that kills me is there is so much focus on how expensive the healthcare bill is and what it costs the taxpayers. NO ONE talks about how corporations are making billions off of the illness of others. They are what is driving up cost. Unfortunately, they have the money to line the politicians pockets.

      Like

Leave a Reply

